James F. Ports, Jr. named secretary of MDOT

Governor Hogan Announces Key Appointment

Earlier this month, Governor Larry Hogan announced that MDOT Secretary Gregory Slater has accepted a job as the new executive director and CEO of the Tampa Hillsborough Expressway Authority (THEA) and will leave his post on January 11, 2022. James F. Ports Jr. will succeed Greg Slater as the new MDOT Secretary.

Secretary Ports has served in major transportation roles at the federal, state, and local levels. As executive director of the Maryland Transportation Authority since 2019, Ports has overseen the state’s toll facilities and E-ZPass system. He also has served as deputy state transportation secretary, deputy administrator for the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration and chief executive of Harford County’s transit system, according to MDOT.Transit Choices congratulates Secretary Ports on his new appointment!  We look forward to working with him as we continue our advocacy to improve public transportation in the Baltimore region. 

We also wish to acknowledge and thank Greg Slater for his many contributions in the public transit arena.

Thank You.